(406) 230-1018

Email Us

Monster Cat Roundup


The Monster Cat Roundup was started in 2009 by Montana Cats board of director Steve Harris. This tournament is held annually on the 3rd Saturday of July on the beautiful Yellowstone River. Tournament headquarters are stationed out of the Sidney Bridge in Sidney, MT. Boundaries stretch from the Montana – North Dakota state line to Intake Diversion Dam. The event is limited to the first 60-boats entered and it continues to fill up on an annual basis. The Roundup is unique in that it offers river-side weigh-ins and a sandy beach for every boat to rest comfortably before and after the competition.  The Ranger Lounge in downtown Sidney hosts the pre and post-tournament festivities for this event.  Steve, and his wife Ashley, are the current tournament directors.

Become a fan of the Monster Cat Roundup on Facebook and get instant updates on all tournament news.

See The Latest Monster Cat Roundup News


Registration for the 15th Annual Monster Cat Roundup in Sidney, MT on July 15th 2023 is NOW OPEN. 

See tournament rules, regulations and PDF mail in entry HERE.

Register Here ONLINE (Preferred Method)

Past Champions

2009 Chad Dawson, Lars Sorensen 23.90 lbs
2010 Brenner Flaten, Nate Molstad 19.28 lbs
2011 Justin King, Jeremiah Hopstad 36.44 lbs
2012 Brenner Flaten, Chad Dawson 36.79 lbs
2013 Bobby Wise, Robert Wise 38.36 lbs
2014 Brady Mueller, Joe Carpenter 26.76 lbs
2015 Bobby Wise, Robert Wise 36.00 lbs
2016 Matt Reynolds, Carrie Niblock 32.17 lbs
2017 Rod Seder, Rob Seder 23.06 lbs
2018 KaCee McPherson, Nicole Peterson 33.28 lbs
2019 Chase Hagler, Garett Leuenberger 38.25 lbs
2020 KaCee McPherson, Nicole Peterson 31.75 lbs.
2021 Brenner Flaten, Chad Dawson 25.75 lbs.
2022 Cole Plouffe, Brett Burman 37.80 lbs.

Past Big Fish Winners

2009 Kyle Mueller 10.30 lbs Big Fish Award
2009 Lars Sorensen 7.70 lbs Second Big Fish Award
2010 Brady Mueller 7.66 lbs Big Fish Award
2010 Sam Syth 6.19 lbs Second Big Fish Award
2011 Kenny Erickson 10.52 lbs Big Fish Award
2011 Jeremiah Hopstad 10.16 lbs Second Biggest Fish Award
2012 Lauren Dempsey 10.96 lbs Big Fish Award
2012 Brenner Flaten 10.80 lbs Second Biggest Fish Award
2013 Terry Decker 11.01 lbs Big Fish Award
2013 Brady Mueller 10.85 lbs Second Biggest Fish Award
2014 Donny Dillman 9.60 lbs Big Fish Award
2014 Brady Mueller 9.43 lbs Second Biggest Fish Award
2015 Bobby Wise 10.20 lbs Big Fish Award
2015 Joe Carpenter 8.71 lbs Second Biggest Fish Award
2016 Matt Reynolds 8.85 lbs Big Fish Award
2016 Chad Nelson 8.33 lbs Second Biggest Fish Award
2017 Randy Franco 10.00 lbs Big Fish Award
2017 James Decker 8.61 lbs Second Biggest Fish Award
2018 Lindsey Gauer 11.63 lbs Big Fish Award
2018 Brady Flaten 11.08 lbs Second Biggest Fish Award
2019 Chase Hagler 9.68 lbs Big Fish Award
2019 Chase Hagler 9.38 lbs Second Biggest Fish Award
2020 Nicole Peterson 16.02 lbs Big Fish Award
2020 Trevor Gust 9.26 lbs Second Biggest Fish Award
2021 Sara Schwenk 11.04 lbs Big Fish Award
2021 Josh Marottek 8.41 lbs Second Biggest Fish Award
2022 Brenner Flaten 11.55 lbs. Big Fish Award
2022 Brett Burman 10.09 lbs. Second Biggest Fish Award


If you're interested in being a Monster Cat Roundup sponsor please contact, Steve Harris, at (406) 489-1170 or Ashley Harris, at 406-489-0673. 

View Our Sponsors