(406) 230-1018

Email Us

Milk River Catfish Classic


The Classic is the “grand daddy” of the Montana Cats Tour.  It was started in 2000 by Montana Cats Vice President Brenner Flaten and his friend Luke Morehouse.  Over the course of the past 26 years, the Classic has grown into the premier catfish tournament in the region.  It is held annually on the 1st Saturday of June in Glasgow, MT.  Boundaries stretch from the Mouth of the Milk near Nashua/Fort Peck to the Bjornberg Bridge near Saco.  It is a night-time event that annually boasts a full 80-team field and over $10,000 in guaranteed cash and prizes.  The popularity of this event is evident when the tournament fills up several months in advance and over 500 people regularly show up for the famous “midnight weigh-ins” in downtown Glasgow.  This event is open to boat AND shore anglers.  Friday night festivities are hosted by the Montana Bar on Glasgow's Front Street.  The event is part of the greater "Milk River Catfish Days" put on annually by the Glasgow Area Chamber of Commerce.  The Catfish Days is a weekend of events for the whole family that began in 2019.  The Classic remains under the direction of its founder, Brenner Flaten.

Become a fan of the Catfish Classic on Facebook and get instant updates on all tournament news.

See The Latest Milk River Catfish Classic News


The 26th Annual Milk River Catfish Classic to be held on Saturday June 7th, 2025 will begin immediately.
ALL the teams that placed in the “TOP 40” in 2024 can begin signing up from now through January 1st. Teams MUST remain identical, however, to secure the spot for next year prior to the New Year. On January 2nd 2025, the remaining 40+ slots will be open to the general public. NO entries will be accepted prior to January 2nd from outside this year’s TOP 40 finishers. Entry fees outside the Top 40 can be dropped off starting January 2nd. Or post-marked on THAT day. No post-marked entries will be accepted prior to January 2nd. Two-person entry fee is $100 (with an optional $100 side pot). 100% cash payout and over $10,000 in guaranteed cash and prizes.  

See tournament rules, regulations and PDF mail in entry HERE

Register Here ONLINE (Preferred Method)

Past Champions

2000 Brady Flaten, Jason Molstad 24.50 lbs.
2001 Josh Thompson, James Schultz 14.60 lbs
2002 Todd Young, Matt Tribby 13.60 lbs.
2003 Brenner Flaten, Jason Flaten 14.80 lbs.
2004 Brenner Flaten, Jason Flaten 17.70 lbs.
2005 Adam Morehouse, Kirk Boyer 31.00 lbs.
2006 Cole Plouffe, Mitch McIntyre 22.70 lbs.
2007 Jerry Molstad, Nate Molstad 34.90 lbs.
2008 Don Resseguie, Kevin Durell 25.20 lbs.
2009 Jerry Molstad, Nate Molstad 22.70 lbs.
2010 Jerry Molstad, Nate Molstad 40.95 lbs.
2011 Luke Morehouse, Calvin Kemmis 36.19 lbs.
2012 VACATED 51.60 lbs.
2013 Jerry Molstad, Nate Molstad 37.29 lbs.
2014 Chad Dawson, Cade Flaten 34.85 lbs.
2015 Tyler George, Ryan George 38.95 lbs.
2016 Tyler George, Ryan George 35.20 lbs.
2017 Jerry Molstad, Nate Molstad 40.16 lbs.
2018 Jason Flaten, Cole Plouffe 33.30 lbs.
2019 Steve Harris Jr., Steve Lowrey 36.42 lbs.
2020 Dan Dupea, Eli Dupea 32.27 lbs.
2021 Bobby Wise, Robert Wise 39.29 lbs.
2022 James Watkins, Ryan Johnson 33.08 lbs.
2023 Jason Flaten, Cole Plouffe 24.72 lbs.
2024 Brady Flaten, Jason Molstad 30.92 lbs.

Past Big Fish Winners

2000 Jerry Molstad 10.00 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2001 Brady Flaten 3.01 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2002 Matt Tribby 6.20 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2003 Jason Flaten & Brady Flaten 4.60 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2004 Brenner Flaten 4.30 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2005 Dave Fuller 12.40 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2005 Adam Morehouse 8.90 lbs. Big Whiskers Award
2006 Cole Plouffe 9.30 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2006 Seth Combs 8.10 lbs. Big Whiskers Award
2007 Colin Kemmis 10.00 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2007 Nate Molstad 9.70 lbs. Big Whiskers Award
2008 Mike Meiers 10.00 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2009 Nate Molstad 10.70 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award (Tie)
2009 Jake Knaff 10.70 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award (Tie)
2010 Wayne Shipp 10.81 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2010 Lars Sorenson 10.78 lbs. Big Whiskers Award
2011 Jim Brandt 10.98 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2011 Luke Morehouse 10.38 lbs. Big Whiskers Award
2012 VACATED 17.64 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2012 Paul Siefert 12.51 lbs. Big Whiskers Award
2013 Jason Maynard 11.56 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2013 VACATED 11.39 lbs. Big Whiskers Award
2014 Scott Swanson 10.08 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2014 Kirk Capdeville 9.00 lbs. Big Whiskers Award
2015 Doug Mahlum 11.75 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2015 Tianna Flaten 9.69 lbs. Big Whiskers Award
2016 Tyler George 10.43 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2016 Karl Krause 8.91 lbs. Big Whiskers Award
2017 Bo Boreson 13.87 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2017 Nate Molstad 11.15 lbs. Big Whiskers Award
2018 Jake Kuka 12.26 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2018 Bobby Wise 11.60 lbs. Big Whiskers Award
2019 Carter Pedersen 11.12 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2019 Steve Harris Sr.  9.75 lbs. Big Whiskers Award
2020 William Van Hook 11.60 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2020 Jeff Irving 10.93 lbs. Big Whiskers Award
2021 Michael Hendry 13.88 lbs.  Jumbo Whiskers Award
2021 Rob Seder  9.48 lbs. Big Whiskers Award 
2022 James Watkins  9.07 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2022 Jake Aune 7.86 lbs. Big Whiskers Award
2023 Austin Bement 8.03 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2023 Marc Kloker 7.73 lbs. Big Whiskers Award
2024 Josh Palm 20.13 lbs. Jumbo Whiskers Award
2024 Dylan Guttenberg 9.46 lbs. Big Whiskers Award

Milk River Catfish Classic Timeline

Milk River Catfish Classic Timeline

Local Area Lodging Information

Local Area Lodging Information


If you're interested in being a Milk River Catfish Classic sponsor please contact, Brenner Flaten, at (406) 263-7909. 

View Our Sponsors