(406) 939-0209

Email Us

The Yellowstone Challenge


The Challenge was started in the spring of 2007 by Montana Cats board of director Jason Flaten.  The tournament takes place annually on the 2nd Saturday of May on the beautiful Yellowstone River.  Tournament headquarters are stationed out of CowBoys in Huntley, MT.  The boundaries stretch from the mouth of the Bighorn River near Bighorn, MT to the Huntley Bridge near Huntley, MT.  The tournament field has been filled nearly every year since the 2nd annual event.  It is very common to see a full-field of 60 Jet Boats lining up for this competitive day out on the water. This is a BOAT ONLY event and is limited to the first 60 teams.  Brady Flaten, President of the Montana Catfish Association and board of director Tyler George serve as Co-Directors for this event.

Become a fan of the Yellowstone Challenge on Facebook and get instant updates on all tournament news.  

See The Latest Yellowstone Challenge News


Registration for the 15th Annual Yellowstone Challenge scheduled for Huntley, Montana will begin on January 1st, 2021.  The 15th Annual Yellowstone Challenge is scheduled for May 8th, 2021.

Past Champions

2007 Richard Theis, Matthew Theis 25.20 lbs
2008 Ryan Smith, Kevin Van Donsel 30.40 lbs
2009 Vacated 31.70 lbs
2010 Vacated 30.45 lbs
2011 Robert Tallent, Gerald Tallent 33.09 lbs
2012 Rod Seder, Kurt Weber 32.31 lbs
2013 Eric Wolff, Jordan Hoagland 32.98 lbs
2014 Bobby Wise, Robert Wise 25.40 lbs
2015 Gary Cantrell, Spencer Cantrell 29.35 lbs
2016 Randy Franco, Nick Fortier 30.11 lbs
2017 Randy Franco, Nick Fortier 30.50 lbs
2018 Brenner Flaten, Jason Flaten 36.68 lbs
2019 Bobby Wise, Robert Wise 31.51 lbs
2020 Brenner Flaten, Jason Flaten 29.11 lbs

Past Big Fish Winners

2007 Scott Swanson 11.2 lbs
2008 Kevin Van Donsel 10.4 lbs
2009 Levi Walter 12.4 lbs
2010 Tom Ringo 13.16 lbs
2011 Robert Tallent 12.42 lbs
2012 Ronald Horton 10.68 lbs
2013 Eli Dupea 12.33 lbs
2014 Chad Mueller 11.64 lbs
2015 Kevin Howie 10.79 lbs
2016 Nick Fortier 11.26 lbs
2017 Cody Evans 11.09 lbs
2018 Sandy Rogers 9.77 lbs
2019 Pat Whitmer 11.24 lbs
2020 Cole Plouffe 10.74 lbs


If you're interested in being a Yellowstone Challenge sponsor please contact, Brady Flaten, at (406) 939-0209 or Tyler George at (406) 544-9961. 

View Our Sponsors